The Light Cinema Experience – review, and why it’s my favourite autism-friendly cinema right now.

*This is not a sponsored review. All the opinions given here are my own, and I am in no way sponsored by the Light Cinema Experience*

My ASD comrades, gather round. I bring news from The Moor. The Light Cinema, brand new to The Moor, Sheffield, is revolutionary. That sounds like an overstatement. I assure you, it isn’t. They’ve already received rave reviews from The Star, Sheffield Live, and pretty much everyone else who’s been. But I thought I’d weigh in with a review especially for you, the proud Sheffielders on the spectrum. And thus, let us begin:

The Light is amazing. From the second I walked in, I felt comfortable. They have restaurants onsite, it’s wonderfully convenient; a Zizzi’s and Pizza Express, with a Nando’s soon to follow. Now, I’m going to throw this out there: Pizza Express always seems to friendly to me. I don’t eat out. I could count on one hand how many times I have had an enjoyable experience going out for a meal. Three of those experiences were probably at Pizza Express (spoiler alert: the other two are Cosmos). So, imagine my joy upon seeing this. It was akin to the kind of joy that is (I assume) reserved mostly for events such as finding a £20 note on the pavement. Or watching a video of a penguin doing literally anything.

 

Before you even get into the cinema, it’s very relaxing. There are very calm seating areas located near the box office, including The Green Room, the Light’s coffee bar, and a lovely piano to be played by anyone who fancies it. Which, due to the fact I’m tone deaf, isn’t me. You can even order your tickets at machines, if going and ordering them seems a little intimidating. I, however, decided to chat to the people at the Box Office, who were lovely. They have a very accepting policy on CEA cards, even having options to order CEA tickets over their website, and it says they host regular autism-friendly screenings (though, as far as I know, they haven’t yet – though they did only open a few days ago, so we probably ought to give them time!)

The screens themselves are the icing on the cake, and what I especially wanted to tell you about. Before the movie I went to see began, a staff member came out to tell us that, if anyone needed anything, there would be staff outside of the screen at all times to help out. That has never happened at any screen I’ve been to before, and I don’t know if the person who let us know that appreciated just how much it meant. The seats are amazing. Ah-mazing. There isn’t a word to explain my absolute ecstasy when I found that not only were they not all cramped up like in most cinemas, but they had their own tables between them, AND (wait for it)….they MOVE. They can be easily reclined a little, which was perfect for me. I always slide down in my seat and “hide” a little bit, giving myself inevitable back and neck pain. But after 2 hours and 40 minutes of Fast and Furious 8, I was immensely comfortable. Also, there is so much leg room. I am very small, but my legs are disproportionately long for my body. To cross my legs in the cinema, usually I have to almost knee myself in the chin. But there was more than enough room to fully stretch my legs out. What this means, of course, is that there is ample space to get into aisle whenever you need to without having to disturb anyone or having to do that uncomfortable move where you give the people next to you an awkward lap dance in an attempt to shuffle past them without making them stand up.

The Light Cinema Experience is phenomenal. I highly recommend to everyone, on the spectrum or not. However, I do want to point out that, if you do happen to have ASD, or know someone who does, please recommend it to them. I have never been to a cinema that provides such a high quality experience for such a cheap price.

Stay safe, friends, and happy cinema-going. x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

