Sparkle Sheffield, America, and updates

So guys, what happened while I was in America? Oh, what’s that? Literally everything. Gah. So annoying. And by annoying, I obviously mean amazing, but I’m still sad I didn’t get to be a part of it.

So, the first thing I totally missed was Autism Awareness Week. Well, technically I didn’t miss it, but I did miss celebrating it with all of you lovely people here in the good ol’ country of England. I celebrated with my peers in the U.S., but still! A real shame!

Secondly, America was brilliant! I don’t want to talk about it too much, because I really want to do a post on travelling as a neuroatypical person, but I did head to the United Nations HQ, Empire State Building, and National Air and Space Museum. If anyone else is obsessed with space like me, I highly recommend it. I almost cried with excitement when a certain Starship Enterprise lit up for ten minutes after me waiting for it to for half an hour. Yup, half an hour. Sue me. And the exhibition on the Space Race? Okay, I need to get back on track or I’ll talk about space forever.

Now, let’s talk about the real MVPs: Sparkle. Sparkle is a charity set up by parents of children with autism to help other families with children on the spectrum with the challenges they might face. In Autism Awareness Week, they organised for 15 shops in Sheffield City Centre to open early or dedicate an hour of sales to raising awareness for autism. You might have spotted them on BBC’s The One Show. That’s right. You can find out more about their event here, because I truly can’t do it justice:

http://www.sparklesheffield.co.uk/2017/03/28/sheffield-city-opens-early-and-sparkles-for-autism-event-in-corporation-with-the-lord-mayor-of-sheffield/

But they were kind enough to let me come along to their latest event, a fun play session at Rother Valley Adventure Playground. I spent an hour and a half running around, climbing, pushing zipwires, and generally having an amazing time with the kids. Thank you especially to Leesh for having me, and to my awesome new little buddy, aka Spider-Man for keeping me company and showing me he can climb “all he way up to one hundred”. I can’t wait to come and have a great time again, if you’ll have me back!

I hope this update has given you a bit of an insight into what the last couple of weeks have been like. Back to normal scheduled posts again now, everyone.

Stay safe, friends, and go show Sparkle some love. x

Photo: Polly Killingley  ©

 

Leave a Reply

